You are here

Back to top

Cece Loves Science (Hardcover)

Cece Loves Science Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life’s most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.

This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions.

Cece’s parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask—do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer; What Do You Do with an Idea?; and anyone who loves learning.

About the Author


Kimberly Derting is the author of the Body Finder series, the Pledge trilogy, and the Taking series. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where the gloomy weather is ideal for writing anything dark and creepy. Her three beautiful (and often mouthy) children serve as an endless source of inspiration and frequently find things they say buried in the pages of their mother’s books. You can visit her online at www.kimberlyderting.com.



Vashti Harrison is the author-artist of the New York Times bestselling Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History. She earned her MFA in Film/Video from CalArts and BA from the University of Virginia. Her experimental films and documentaries have been shown around the world at film festivals. She lives in Brooklyn, NY.



Shelli R. Johannes never warmed up to creepy crawly bugs, but she always loved zoology and biology. In fact, she can often be found on highways and country roads saving strays and other jaywalking critters, or volunteering with animal conservations groups like The Atlanta Zoo, The Dolphin Project, and animal rescue centers. Unfortunately, she learned early on that chemistry (a.k.a. cooking) was not her favorite science, often resulting in odd reactions and minor explosions. She lives in Atlanta with her husband, two kids, one bird, one fish, and two crazy-haired Doodles who, just like Einstein, all who seem to love fruit and dessert, but loathe veggies. 

Praise For…


“Harrison’s clean, bright illustrations add expression and personality to the story. ...this endearing protagonist earns a place on the children’s STEM shelf. A good introduction to observation, data, and trying again.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Cece is a smart and curious girl who loves to get to the bottom of all her complex questions. ...Harrison’s expressive digital illustrations have a lot of energy, color, and motion...A fun way to introduce scientific methods.”
— Booklist

“Excited by her teacher’s assignment to find and investigate a question, [Cece] pairs up with a partner, Isaac, to brainstorm ideas...The story includes images of an inviting science classroom and mentions a variety of sciences and a range of scientists diverse in race and gender. ... Words and pictures combine to make smooth blend of entertainment and education.”
— School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062499608
ISBN-10: 0062499602
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 19th, 2018
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Cece Loves Science